Posted by: Trudie Trewin | September 2, 2010

What’s with the names?

As a writer, I’ll sometimes give my characters unusual and weird names, especially to add some humour.

But as a parent I much rather the names that have stood the test of time. And I like to spell them normally too – I was never even slightly tempted to write ‘Danyule’ on the birth certificate.  I am constantly amazed by some of the names I hear, and the reasons behind them…

The other day I heard of a child given the name ‘Maakee’, because when the mother was little she had trouble saying monkey, and that’s how it came out.

Lucky for my kids I didn’t go down that path… when I was little I had trouble with the word ‘coat-hanger’. Just imagine introducing young ‘Goat Angg Angger Trewin‘ to his year one class mates!

And if my kids use this method of naming, I’ll end up with Copenopen Trewin (coconut), and Elbumow Trewin (elbow) for grandkids!

Eeek!

Responses

  1. Maakee. Really? Even Monkey would be better. Your coat-hanger name made me giggle. Thanks for the laugh.

    • Glad to give you a giggle, Katrina. Kidspeak is full of giggles isn’t it?

  2. We had twins in a nearby school whose parents wanted to emphasise their duality. They chose Salt and Pepper for their names!

    But I must admit there is something very cute about Copenopen and Elbumow. All I can add to the mix is cordigal, besghetti and umburella.


Leave a Reply

Categories

