Posted by: Trudie Trewin | December 24, 2009

Silent Night

I love Christmas and all the traditions that go with it. Although I pick and choose which traditions I follow – for example, our Christmas lunch is never ever a hot one with the trimmings.  The chook is roasted the day before, and accompanied by cold ham and lovely chilled prawns. Washed down with cold beer and wine. No slaving in the kitchen for me, no way –  I’ll be with everyone else laughing and playing.

But last thing on Christmas Eve  I always have a quiet moment alone. It’s become a tradition I look forward to.  I turn all the lights off, click the CD player onto Silent Night, and have a little cry. Don’t worry – they are emotional, happy tears. Christmas just does it to me – always has, and I hope it always will.  I reflect on the year that’s almost over, and thank God for all that’s good in my life. And there’s a lot.

It’s almost that time now, all’s quiet, the presents are wrapped and under the tree, the house is as tidy as it can reasonably expect to be – given my distaste for housework, and everyone is asleep (although there’s a fair chance the boys are only pretending!) So in a minute I’ll go and sit in the dark, next to our raggedy old on-it’s-last-year Christmas tree, sing Silent Night badly and cry. And thank God that I’m lucky enough to cry happy tears at Christmas.

Merry Christmas everyone.

Leave a Reply

Categories

